SimThyr
SimThyr
Ruhr-Universität Bochum



SimThyr, a simulator of thyrotropic feedback control, here on Windows XP, supports a wide range of hardware and operating systems.

SimThyr, a simulator of thyrotropic feedback control, here on Mac OS X 10.6 (Snow Leopard) supports a wide range of hardware and operating systems.

Schilddrüsenhormone spielen eine entscheidende Rolle für Stoffwechsel, Wachstum und Differenzierung. Eine exakte Regulation ihres Haushalts ist daher für die meisten Organismen unentbehrlich. Obwohl die Prinzipien des thyreotropen Regelkreises bereits vor Jahrzehnten beschrieben wurden, haben wir bis heute immer noch keine vollständige Einsicht in seine Dynamik erlangen können.

Kürzlich wurden allerdings entscheidende Fortschritte durch die mathematische Modellierung der Schilddrüsen-Homöostase erreicht. Aufgrund der nichtlinearen Natur der Wechselwirkungen vermögen diese kybernetischen Modelle allerdings nicht zugleich das statische und dynamische Verhalten des Regelkreises zu beschreiben. Diese Lücke kann durch Rechnersimulationen gefüllt werden. Darüber hinaus ebnen die simulativen Ansätze den Weg für ein intuitiveres Verständnis der Dynamik des Hypophysen-Schilddrüsen-Regelkreises.

SimThyr ist ein interaktives Simulationsprogramm des thyreotropen Regelkreises, das es erlaubt, die Beziehung zwischen Struktur und Verhalten der Schilddrüsen-Homöpstase, d. h. zwischen der Architektur des Wirkungsgefüges und den sich ergebenden Hormonspiegeln zu untersuchen. Das Programm soll sowohl die Forschung als auch die Ausbildung in der Thyreologie unterstützen.

SimThyr baut auf einem parametrisch isomorphen Modell des Gesamtsystems auf. Es findet Anwendung in der Forschung, insbesondere der Entwicklung von Hypothesen, und der Lehre von Studierenden der Biologie und Medizin, der Ausbildung für Gesundheits- und Krankenpflegeberufe sowie im Patientenunterricht.

In der Forschung konnte mit Hilfe von SimThyr eine neue Hypothese über die Entstehung der pulsatilen TSH-Sekretion untermauert werden. Darüber hinaus lieferte das Programm entscheidende Hinweise, dass eine zentrale Hyperdejodierung auch beim Menschen zum Low-T3-Syndrom führt und dass es offensichtlich epigenetische Wirkungen der Schilddrüsen-Stoffwechsellage auf die zentrale Homöostase gibt. Weitere Forschungsprojekte untersuchten mit SimThyr die Auswirkung von bestimmten Strukturparametern des Regelkreises auf die Qualität der Diagnostik von Schilddrüsenerkrankugnen. Darüber hinaus wird die Software von immer mehr Einrichtungen für Ausbildungszwecke verwendet.

Die Algorithmen, welche dieser kontinuierlichen Simulation zugrundeliegen, wurden in mehreren Publikationen veröffentlicht. Sie ermöglichen die klassische mathematische Modellierung der beteiligten Regelkreise, ihre Anwendung in Rechnersimulationen vermittelt aber ein tieferes und intuitieres Verständnis für die zeitliche Dynamik der Schilddrüsenhomöostase.

Im Laufe der vergangenen Jahre hat SimThyr mehrere Zertifikate und Preise erhalten.

SimThyr ist freie und offene Software, die auf der Grundlage einer BSD-Lizenz zur Verfügung steht. Ausführbare Programme sind verfügbar für Mac OS, Mac OS X und Windows, Quellcode kann mit THINK Pascal (für Mac OS Classic) oder Lazarus/Free Pascal (für Mac OS X, Windows und Linux) übersetzt werden.







SimThyr on Windows XP
SimThyr on Mac OS X 10.4 (Tiger)
SimThyr on Mac OS X 10.5 (Leopard)

SimThyr project entry at sourceforge.net

SimThyr
SimThyr
Ruhr-Universität
                                          Bochum



SimThyr 4.0
The versatile thyroid simulator for education and research


SimThyr, a
                                          tool for science and research
                                          in thyroidology


Thyroid hormones play an essential role for metabolism, growth and differentiation. Therefore, exact regulation of thyroid hormone levels is vital for most vertebrate organisms. Although the principles of thyrotropic feedback control have been described decades ago, we have still not yet gained a comprehensive understanding of its dynamics.

Recently, significant progress has been made with mathematical modelling of thyroid homeostasis. However, due to nonlinear interactions, these cybernetic modells cannot simultaneously describe static and dynamic behaviour of the processing structure. This gap may be filled with computer simulations that additionally provide a more intuitive insight into the dynamics of thyrotropic feedback.

SimThyr is an interactive simulation program of pituitary thyroid feedback control that enables one to study the relationship between structure and behaviour of thyroid homeostasis, i.e. between the architecture of the intercausal network and the resulting hormone levels. Its goal is to support both science and education in thyroidology.

SimThyr is based on a parametrically isomorphic model of the overall system. It is therefore able to bridge the translational gap between molecular biology and comprehensive dynamics on a global level of the organism. Applications of this program cover research, including development of hypotheses, and education of students in biology and medicine, nurses and patients.

SimThyr has significantly contributed to research on thyroid homeostasis. It helped to prove a new hypothesis about the emergence of pulsatile TSH release and it delivered key indications that central hyperdeiodination leads to low T3 syndrome in humans. Additionally, it suggested the existence of epigenetic effects of thyroid status on central homeostasis. Other research projects used SimThyr to investigate the effects of certain structure parameters of the feedback loop on diagnostic quality in the evaluation of thyroid function. Furthermore, the software is used for educational projects at several locations.

The algorithms underlying the continuous simulation process have been released in several publications. Although they may also be applied in form of classical mathematical modelling, using them in a computer simulation provides a deeper and more intuitive insight into temporal dynamics of thyroid homeostasis.

Over the previous years, SimThyr has received several certificates and awards.

This is a free and open source application that is offered on the base of a BSD licence. Binaries are available for macOS and Windows, source code requires THINK Pascal (for Mac OS Classic) or Lazarus/Free Pascal (for Mac OS X, Windows and Linux).







SimThyr on Windows XP
SimThyr on Mac OS X 10.4
                                      (Tiger)
SimThyr on Mac OS X 10.5
                                      (Leopard)

SimThyr project entry
                    at sourceforge.net